Week 13: Best Food

Since I’m a foodie and I was lucky enough to travel all over Europe this semester, I thought I’d make a list of my favorite food from everywhere–you should definitely try any of these if you have the chance.

  • UK: Fish and Chips – This is a classic, and so so good. I never really liked it before, thinking it was just a greasy mess, but nothing is like some real British fish and chips. Go to a quality place though, because I had some $5 fish and chips once while I was here and it was not fresh and was a greasy mess. Be sure to use lots of malted vinegar and tartar sauce. Restaurant recommendation: North Sea
  • UK: Nando’s – You will see this chain restaurant all over London and you absolutely must go in at least once to try it. This fast-casual chicken place is convenient, a great deal, and absolutely delicious. It is supposedly of Portuguese origin and the flavors come from Peri-Peri sauce. Be sure to try the various sauces you can just grab from the counter–my favorite is lemon & herb. Also all of the sides are great too, and I recommend the peas and the sweet potato mash.
  • Greece: Yogurt, both fresh & frozen – You’ve undoubtedly heard of Greek yogurt right? Well imagine how good it is in Greece! It probably just comes from the quality of the ingredients, but this is the best yogurt I have ever had in my life, and believe me when I say I’m a yogurt aficionado and have tried a lot of yogurt. The traditional Greek toppings are pretty interesting, but I would only try the candied fruits if you have a high tolerance for sweet things.
20121217-091627.jpg

Frozen yogurt with traditional Greek toppings.

Leave a comment